Kingdom Hearts 2: 10 Best Abilities To Use (& How To Get Them)

Kingdom Hearts II is considered by most fans to be the best game in the franchise. It introduced a lot of new characters, had some of the best worlds, and was one of the most fun installments to play. One of the reasons this title was so fun was because of the awesome abilities that players could use.

RELATED: 10 Square Enix Characters That Have Not Appeared In A Kingdom Hearts Game (But Should)

With the exception of a few, the abilities are helpful as Kingdom Hearts II is one of the most balanced installments in the series. However, there are some that every player should equip to have the best experience controlling Sora and fighting enemies. Here are ten of them.

10 Trinity Limit

Trinity Limit is one of the strongest abilities in the game, having Sora team up with Donald and Goofy to attack all of the enemies around them. Pete is one of the main antagonists in this installment and can be fought multiple times.

The first time players fight him is towards the end of their first visit to Olympus Coliseum. Upon defeating him, they are rewarded with Trinity Limit.

9 Explosion

Throughout the game, there will be many times when Sora is surrounded by enemies. Explosion is a great ability that allows players to attack all of them at once, not having to worry about getting hit from behind.

They can obtain Explosion by going to Space Paranoids and defeating all of the heartless on the solar sailer during their second visit.

8 Guard

Guard is one of the earliest abilities to earn in the game. It allows players to block an enemy’s attack so they won’t lose HP. When playing as Roxas at the beginning of Kingdom Hearts II, they will fight against Twilight Thorn at Dive to the Heart. By defeating this nobody boss, they will be rewarded with Guard and should keep it equipped the entire game.

7 Aerial Recovery

There will be many times in this game that players will get hit by an enemy and be knocked back, not being able to move until they hit the ground. However, with Aerial Recovery, they can jump before they touch the ground and can fight in the air.

RELATED: Kingdom Hearts: 5 Mysteries From Union X That Need To Be Answered Before The Game Ends (& 5 From Dark Road)

This ability is also obtained when Roxas enters Dive to the Heart, moments before he fights Twilight Thorn. Like Guard, players should keep this ability equipped throughout their whole playthrough.

6 Reaction Boost

Reaction Commands are some of the most fun ways to attack enemies so most players will certainly want to use them often. By equipping Reaction Boost, the Reaction Commands become more powerful. When Roxas went to the Dive to the Heart, players needed to make a decision that would impact when they would get certain abilities.

If they chose to take the Dream Sword, they would get Reaction Boost when they hit level 15. If they chose to take the Dream Rod, they’d get it when they got to level 33. And if they took the Dream Shield, they’d earn it at level 23. For those that want a greater challenge and play on Critical Mode, they will get this ability once they go to Dive to the Heart, no matter which weapon they chose.

5 Form Boost

Another enjoyable way to attack enemies is by using Drive Forms. These Drive Forms make Sora more powerful, letting him wield two keyblades at the same time or giving him different abilities entirely. However, they don’t last for a long time and need to recharge before being used again.

Form Boost makes them last a little longer. Each Drive Form can be leveled up and players will be rewarded by doing so. By leveling up Final Form, they can earn Form Boosts.

4 Experience Boost

EXP is one of the most important things in many video games as it allows players to level up and get stronger. In Kingdom Hearts II, players can earn more EXP when they are close to dying if they equip Experience Boost.

RELATED: Kingdom Hearts 2: All Worlds From The Game, Ranked

If they took the Dream Sword, they will earn this ability at level 9. Those that picked up the Dream Rod will get it at level 7. Lastly, the Dream Shield gives Experience Boost to players once they reach level 17.

3 Berserk Charge

Like Drive Forms, MP needs to recharge after a while. Berserk Charge is a great ability to have equipped during that time as it allows Sora to attack enemies without stopping. Players will obtain Berserk Charge if they chose the Dream Sword once they get to level 65.

If they picked the Dream Rod, they’ll get it at level 49. As for the Dream Shield, players will earn it at level 85. It should also be noted that while using Berserk Charge, players will not be able to attack with a Finisher.

2 Once More

There are many difficult enemies and bosses to fight in Kingdom Hearts II. A lot of them can easily defeat players with a combo. Once More is one of the most useful abilities in the game because as long as players have more than 1 HP, they cannot die until the enemy attacks after they finish using their combo.

Players learn this ability with the Dream Sword once they reach level 47, with the Dream Rod when they get up to level 28, and with the Dream Shield when they reach level 25.

1 Second Chance

Second Chance is very similar to Once More. However, instead of being useful when players are attacked by a combo, this ability is activated when they are hit with one powerful strike. Players that picked up the Dream Sword earn this ability at level 85. Players that decided to take the Dream Rod will get it at level 65. And players that chose the Dream Shield will get it once they reach level 49.

For those that want to try to have a playthrough in which they don’t die at all, picking the Dream Shield is the best way to ensure this.

NEXT: Kingdom Hearts: Every Summon In The Series (& How To Get Them)